IMN 2021


Copyright: KU Leuven – Rob Stevens / Toerisme Leuven


IMN 2021 is part of the activities of the CNRS International Research Network (IRN) on Nanoalloys that is dedicated to exchanges and collaborative research in Europe, bringing together chemists, physicists and materials scientists on hot topics in the field of nano-sized alloy particles. IMN 2021 will deal with the properties of nanoalloys and their applications, both from experimental and modelling point of view, with particular focus on:

  • environment and non-equilibrium effects on nanoalloy structures and properties;
  • nanoalloy catalysis; and
  • magnetic and optical properties of nanoalloys.

IMN 2021 is open to contributions from outside the IRN network.

Timetable and Booklet




IMN 2021 was due to be held in the beautiful historical city of Leuven (Belgium), but uncertainty about international travel and gathering restrictions associated to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic made the organizing committee decide to change to a virtual conference format.

Invited speakers and hot topic presenters

  • Fatima Ait Hellal (Université d’Orléans, France)
  • Vincenzo Amendola (Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy)
  • Pascal Andreazza (Université d’Orléans, France)
  • Joost Bakker (Radboud University, The Netherlands)
  • Francesca Baletto (King’s College London, UK)
  • Magali Benoit (Center for Materials Elaboration and Structural Studies, Toulouse, France)
  • Patrizio Benzo (CEMES-CNRS and Université de Toulouse, France)
  • Fabienne Berthier (Université Paris-Saclay, France)
  • Grégoire Breyton (Université Paris Diderot, France)
  • Fernando Buendia-Zamudio (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México)
  • Sebastiano Campisi (Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy)
  • Emmanuel Cottancin (Univ. Lyon, France)
  • Jolien Dendooven (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Wolfgang Ernst (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
  • Piero Ferrari (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Alessandro Fortunelli (Italian National Research Council, Italy)
  • Estefania German (University of Valladolid, Spain)
  • Didier Grandjean (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Elisa Jimenez-Izal (Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea UPV/EHU & Donostia International Physics Center, Spain)
  • Sergey Kozlov (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Damien Le Roy (Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, France)
  • Frederic Meunier (Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, France)
  • Chloé Minnai (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan)
  • Arthur Moisset (Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Murilo Moreira (Universidade Estadual de Campinas-UNICAMP, Brazil)
  • Cora Moreira Da Silva (Laboratoire d’Etude des Microstructures, France)
  • Diana Nelli (Universita di Genova, Italy)
  • Richard E. Palmer (Swansea University, UK)
  • Micha Polak (Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
  • Hynd Remita (Université Paris-Saclay, France)
  • Hans-Christian Weissker (Aix-Marseille Université, France)

Registration and abstract submission

Registration for the meeting is free and can be done here.

The call for abstracts is closed. Late requests for poster contributions can still be send to Please use this word template.  Requests for poster contributions will be considered until March 21st

Dates and deadlines

  • Deadline for abstract submission: March 4, 2021
  • Deadline for registration: March 21, 2021
  • Meeting: April 14-16, 2021 (start of the meeting on Wednesday 14/04 in the morning; end of the meeting on Friday 16/04 afternoon)

Organizing Committee

  • Ewald Janssens, KU Leuven (chair)
  • Pascal Andreazza, Université d’Orléans
  • Riccardo Ferrando, Università di Genova
  • Kobe De Knijf, KU Leuven
  • Guillaume Libeert, KU Leuven
  • Johan van der Tol, KU Leuven